The 2013 Arroyo Verde Awards

our region's most prestigious
environmental stewardship awards

The Arroyo Verde Awards recognize those who have made a valuable contribution to protecting and improving the Arroyo Seco Watershed and our local communities over the past year. The awards were presented at the Council of Arroyo Seco Organizations' annual holiday celebration at the Pasadena Humane Society Thursday, December 19.

After a lot of networking and refreshements on a drizzly night, Scott Cher, Arroyo Seco Watershed Coordinator, opened the event with a list of the impressive Arroyo achievements of 2013:

  1. Finding a home for the athletic field at Muir instead of Hahamongna
  2. Completion of the Arroyo Seco Canyon Project Conceptual Design
  3. Establishement of the Hahamongna Cooperative Nursery
  4. Confluence Presentation by Ying Jun and Inclusion in ARBOR Study; LA River Rally
  5. Progress on the USACE Arroyo Seco Study and Development of the River Parks Program
  6. Growing public support for a slow and sustainable sediment program in Hahamongna

Then the 2013 awards were presented.

Best Advocacy

to the individual who has made the greatest contribution in improving policy, programs, or funding for the Arroyo.

Roger Klemm

for promoting native plants and appropriate habitat in the Arroyo Seco and in nearby communities

Greening the Arroyo (Organization)

to the organization that has made the biggest difference in improving the environment in the Arroyo

Friends of the Southwest Coalition

for dedication to preserving and enhancing the cultural heritage of the Arroyo. Nicole Possert, Yvonne Sarceda and Ann Walnum accepted.

Greening the Arroyo (Agency)

to the city or governmental agency that has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the stewardship of the Arroyo.

Los Angeles River Office

Office in recognition of its leadership and support of Los Angeles River Revitalization and the inclusion of the Arroyo Seco Confluence in the US Army Corps of Engineers ARBOR program. Michael Affeldt and Megan Whalen accepted the award.

Greening the Arroyo (Business)

to the business or commercial association that has contributed the most to the enhancement of the Arroyo

La Loma Development Company

in recognition of leadership and support of environmental stewardship through the educational activities at The Shed and the space it is providing for the start-up Hahamongna Cooperative Nursery. Marco Barrantes accepted.

Best Volunteer

to an individual who has improved the Arroyo through consistent, dedicated physical labor throughout the year

Dorothy Wong

for all the good things she has done in recent years to improve the Arroyo and educate the community about our watershed and how they can enjoy it

Citizen Activist

to an individual who has shown leadership and mobilized others to improve the Arroyo

Hugh Bowles

to honor his many years of defending the natural character and habitat of Hahamongn

Public Official

to an elected or appointed official or governmental employee who has made an outstanding contribution to the protection and promotion of the Arroyo Seco

Assemblymember Chris Holden

in recognition of his leadership and support of good watershed management and the protection of the sensitive environmental character of the Arroyo Seco. Gerald Phillips accepted the award on behalf of Chris Holden who was in Sacramento.

Lifetime Achievement

This award, which is not given every year, is confered on an individual who has devoted considerable energy and enthusiasm to protecting and promoting the Arroyo over many years

Ted Latta

on his retirement for 39 years of service to Pasadena and our region maintaining and protecting the Arroyo Seco. Ted was not able to attend the event.

Special Award

for championing the Hahamongna Canyon project through IRWMP

Jonathan Frame

for his keen insights into watershed management and his dedication to protecting and restoring the Arroyo Seco River and Watershed